And so it begins…

“Why don’t you ever write any more?”

It was a fair question. The long answer is that I no longer felt like I had anything interesting to say, and that no one cared whether I said it or not anyhow. The short answer is I got lazy. Ridiculously lazy. When you’re done school and working part-time in retail, you find yourself getting more lazy and more boring. Moving home and finding yourself turning 26 whilst unemployed and living with your parents really doesn’t help matters. Trying to come up with witty or clever stories to tell became a major effort when most of my days revolved around sitting on my ass, watching TV and surfing the internet. In essence, I gave up. Well, no more.

It’s a new year, ladies and gentlemen. A new decade, in fact, and if ever there was a time to come up with some lofty resolutions, now is that time. My goals for this year are fairly simple: write more, watch more movies, and write more about the movies I watch. Easy enough, right? I also want to write about the TV shows I watch and why I watch them. The amount of television I watch is positively staggering but there’s a rhyme and reason to most of my madness, and I hope to try to explain it. I plan to write about anything and everything that catches my interest – movies and television yes, but also songs that I can’t stop singing, books that I can’t stop reading, sites that I can’t stop visiting and pretty much anything interesting that may or may not happen to me or strike my fancy in a given day.

On top of my resolution to write more, I’ve made a few other resolutions:

Watch one new movie every week – This may seem like an idiotic resolution to some, but the truth of the matter is for someone who claims to love movies, there’s an awful lot of them I still haven’t seen. I am determined to remedy this.

Watch one old movie every week – The number of movies I own but have only watched once or twice is pathetic. I need to start revisiting my collection on a regular basis to make these DVDs a sound investment. Right now they are nothing more than trophies of my superior pop culture savvy. “Oh, you mean you’ve never seen a Charlie Chaplin movie? Tsk tsk, I have a collection on MY shelf, if you ever care to borrow it…”

Read more – I know, I know, how cliché. But the truth is for someone who loves reading as much as I claim to, the majority of my literary palate consists of Stephen King and murder mysteries. Let’s try to expand our horizons, shall we? I thought about trying to make a quantitative goal here, like, one book a month or something. But the truth is, I can usually plow through a book in a day or two if it grabs my interest. It’s just a matter of grabbing my interest. So instead of setting a goal of how many books in a given time frame, I’m just going to say 50-100 pages a night.

Excercise – Again, total cliché. But I don’t exercise, ever, and as previously mentioned, I spend far too much time sitting on my ass all day. There is literally a treadmill in the room with me, RIGHT NEXT TO ME AS I TYPE, and I’ve never set foot on it. This will all change starting tomorrow. I will spend 30 minutes jogging on the treadmill every morning, that way I can no longer use weather or the judgemental eyes of strangers at the gym as an excuse.

FIND A JOB – This one is sort of an ongoing goal. But I’m going to get more aggressive and less picky in 2010. While I don’t plan on saying “Would you like fries with that?” any time soon, I may have to resign myself to the fact that I am doomed to languish in retail hell for at least another year.

I’m not entirely sure what this blog will be just yet. While I do plan on writing about movies, television, and my thoughts and opinions about said topics, I also want to try and write to keep track of my other resolutions, even if only with a tally at the end of each post as to how far I read in my book, how many jobs I applied for, how long I lasted on the treadmill before punking out, etc. It’ll be just like Bridget Jones’s Diary, but with less Hugh Grant and Colin Firth, and more terrible fake British accents (I may or may not be saying all this in my head in a cockney accent right now. ‘Ello, Guvnah!)  I hope those of you who stumbled across this (and those of you I dragged here kicking and screaming) will be patient with me and keep reading, even if it does all get very mundane and boring. I’m trying to get back into the swing of this writing thing, it may take me a bit to find my sea legs, or online voice, as it were.

S.

“Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going.” – Jim Rohn

2 responses to “And so it begins…

  1. I’m sorry that I didn’t read this sooner as I would have offered to watch movies/read books with you! Though I guess that is still possible. Though our long-distance book clubs have failed in the past, perhaps we can give it another go?

    • Hahahaha I’d be down for trying again! Because really, we do indeed suck at it. And I’ve fallen behind in my resolution, so maybe having you as motiviation can kick my butt into gear again?

Leave a Reply

