Shawty’s like a melody in my head…

Do you ever wake up with a song stuck in your head? And you have no idea how it got there or why, but it’s playing on a continual loop in your brain to the point where, whether you love the song or hate it with the fiery passion of a thousand suns, you HAVE to listen to it immediately, maybe even 4 or 5 times in a row, and then delete it off your hard drive and try to forget it ever existed?

No? Just me? Alright then.

Stephen King calls them “earworms” and I cannot think of a more apt description. You know that place between sleep and awake? That place where you still remember dreaming? The place where Tinkerbell will always love Peter Pan? That’s when the earworms really dig deep into my brain. I’m barely awake, my eyes aren’t even open, yet over and over and over again a song will play on a continual loop in my head:

Believe me, the hilarity is not lost on me. The lyrics are just so… apt, for my current situation, wouldn’t you say?

My friend tried to warn me on New Year’s Eve about the evils of this song, but instead of listening to him I just sang along to it louder and in his face. Oh, cruel karma, must you mock me so?

The funny part is, usually my earworms are actually lines of dialogue from films – a pretty good indication of just how messed up my brain is. The worst is when I can hear a line SO CLEARLY in my head, but have no idea what it’s from. I literally spent 6 months walking around hearing a young girl shout, “I want to retch and DIE!” in my head before I finally caught Strike! on TBS one night and almost wept with joy when I heard poor Tweety utter the line. Most recently, I’ve had the sound of two children imitating barking stuck in my head and for the life of me I cannot place it in a context. I don’t even think I could imitate the noise they made if I tried…

I definitely punked out on watching Singin’ In The Rain last night, but I don’t feel bad about it because I was watching a buttload of Buffy episodes on DVD and all the special features therein, thus still fulfilling my resolution. The problem is I am now well into the second season and I’m starting to get sad because I know that *SPOILER ALERT IF YOU’VE NEVER WATCHED BUFFY AND HAVE LIVED UNDER A ROCK THE PAST 12 YEARS BUT THINK YOU MIGHT JUST WANNA GIVE THE SHOW A SHOT IN THE NEAR FUTURE* Angel’s going to turn evil really soon and that it is going to break my heart. And then Buffy’s going to have to kill him, and that will be even MORE heartbreaking. So I find myself trying to drag out the season instead of motoring through it like I did the first. It really is ridiculous because of all the seasons, the second is definitely my favourite. It has some of the best writing, acting, and just all around story-telling I’ve ever seen. But it’s also depressing as balls. Then again, it does introduce the world to an incredibly sweet and adorable Seth Green…

In case you can’t tell, my love for Buffy borders on worrisome to some who know me. But that is a subject that deserves its on separate entry on the many reasons why Buffy and the incredibly gifted Joss Whedon kick so much major ass.

Today I:

  • will get on the treadmill the minute I’m done typing this and watch myself an episode of The Good Wife whilst I walk
  • will clean my sty of a room
  • will read another 65 pages of Tut (it’s interesting, but not particularly well-written. It’s an easy read though, and is helping me bone up on my Egyptian history, so I can’t really complain)
  • will finally watch my brother’s movie (and hopefully write about it here tomorrow)

(Re: earworms) “even if I can’t get it out of my head, I can inflict it on others. Because misery loves company.” – Stephen King

Leave a Reply

