“He’s mad as a box of frogs!”

It is almost 1:00am and I just finished watching the SyFy (GOD I HATE THAT NAME CHANGE) miniseries “Alice“… for the second time. This happened last year when “Tin Man” was released. Apparently I have an addiction to SyFy miniseries. True, their effects are usually appalling, and the dialogue can be a little campy at times, but there’s just something about a modern, science fiction version of classic children’s tales that absolutely hooks me. I’m definitely going to be watching my “Tin Man” DVD this weekend… and then probably “Alice’ again, at some point.

I don’t know what it is. With “Tin Man”, I ended up watching because a) I love all things “Oz” and b) I adore four of the main actors in it (there is literally nothing I won’t watch Alan Cumming in, which makes for a lot of terrible movies I find myself willing to sit through.) But I fell in love with the whole concept of a futuristic, dystopian Oz where the Wicked Witch rules all and only “D.G.” (Dorothy Gale? Anyone?) can save the day. With “Alice”, I actually had no real motivation to watch it, other than I loved “Tin Man” so. But the Alice in Wonderland has never been one of my favourites (I hate Alice, in truth. Mostly book Alice, but even in the movie. So whiny and flighty… ugh) and whiles I love me some Kathy Bates, she wasn’t quite enough to make me want to tune in. Oh, me of little faith. An Alice who’s a black belt! A Wonderland where human emotion is like a drug! A sexy and charming British mad hatter in guy liner! A creepy assassin with the head of a hare! (Get it? The March Hare? HAR HAR HAR.) Tim Curry! Matt Frewer, of PSI Factor fame! About a bajillion other Canadian actors! (I always get a thrill out of seeing homegrown heroes on screen.) True, apparently everyone in Wonderland is British for no discernable reason, but Colm Meaney was the King of Hearts to Kathy Bates Queen! What’s not to love? SyFy, you have made a believer out of me. No matter what your next adaptation is, consider me signed up. Especially if Nick Willing is behind the camera, he’s 2 for 2 in my book.

Oh, PS, I’m now totally in love with Andrew Lee Potts who played the Mad Hatter. SO CUTE. AND FUNNY. AND DID I MENTION CUTE? GOD DAMN. I may or may not be in the process of trying to download his British sci fi cult hit “Primeval” as we speak. I am a pathetic panda.

“Down here! Take the second left at the stairs that lead up to the third floor. Then after the double doors take the third walkway on the right over the fitness center to reception B and ask for Sheila! Or maybe it’s Shenekwa. COME!” – Matt Frewer as Charlie the White Knight in “Alice”

Leave a Reply

