Friday Favourites

1) I have a sneaking suspicion that I am destined to work at Entertainment Weekly. Because seriously, I could have written this article. In fact, I think I’ll start on the screenplay for the story described… Also, I relate to this description of “Conan Guilt” SO MUCH, I’m starting to wonder if I have a secret second personality writing for EW…

2) Of all the recaps from the Golden Globes, this one’s my favourite. Mostly because of all the superlatives. And Julia Roberts acting like an ass.

3) Speaking of the Golden Globes, these reaction shots crack me up. I think Gerard Butler is my favourite. Probably because I remember seeing that on TV and immediately bursting into laughter.

4) OMG OMG OMG I’M HAVING A GEEKGASM OMG… If Bernadette Peters shows up, I might die.

5) Paranormal Activity is probably the scariest and most impressive horror film I have ever seen. So when I heard the news that the director of Saw VI would be helming a sequel, my soul naturally withered up and died. DID WE LEARN NOTHING FROM BOOK OF SHADOWS: BLAIR WITCH 2?! COME ON GUYS. (Sidenote: Only positive thing I can say about Book of Shadows is that it introduced me to Jeffrey Donovan who made such a lasting impression that when he showed up as the star of Burn Notice 7 years later, I immediately exclaimed, “That’s the dude from Blair Witch 2!”)

6) I’m not much for crying at the movies, but I have a rule: No sad dog movies. I can’t handle them. Even the ads for Marley & Me get me all misty-eyed. Naturally, this means that I will NEVER SEE THIS MOVIE EVER:

If this doesn’t put a lump in your throat, then you are a stronger soul than I.

7) I love Bruce Campbell. Especially when he’s willing to make fun of himself, like in My Name Is Bruce. Naturally, this news makes me very happy. Though the idea of Bubba Nosferatu would be even better.

8 ) I love lists like this telling me of upcoming must see movies. I want to see all of these, but I’ll be lucky if I get to see five of them.

9) Almost a year ago, I borrowed a collection of graphic novels called “The Walking Dead” from a friend of mine. When I finished and returned them, my friend commented that he hoped they’d make them into a movie. I countered that I thought they’d make a better miniseries or tv show, preferably on cable. I WISH IT, AND SO IT IS. And with Frank Darabont to boot! I cannot WAIT for this to air…

10) Speaking of zombies, yet another film adaptation that has me excited is this one of a zombie love story that is equal parts touching and amusing. I’m not sure how it’ll translate to film, but I can’t wait to see what they’ll do.

11) I loved Mamma Mia! (on stage, not on film. YECH,) so I can’t bring myself to dismiss this idea of a Spice Girls-themed musical. Mostly, I just really want to see how “2 Become 1” translates to the stage.

12) Speaking of Conan, this cartoon depiction of the NBC late night debacle is glorious. Why are the Japanese so crazy?!

I love when they all turn into superheroes for NO GOOD REASON.

13) It’s that time of year again! The Sundance Film Festival is beginning and the buzz has already started. Personally, I’m really looking forward to Howl, Hesher, and Buried . And not just because they star James Franco, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Ryan Reynolds. Ok, maybe that has a little to do with it. PS Check out the trailer for Buried!

And this picture from Hesher!

I can’t decide if I’m turned on or off by this picture of Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Which disturbs me.

14) This week’s favourite fugging: The girls had plenty of material with the Golden Globes being last weekend, and I thought I had a favourite all picked out, and then this little gem was posted a little while ago. HILARIOUS. (Seriously though, go check out Go Fug Yourself. Their commentary is to die for.)

15) The movie released this week I most want to see?

Click to watch trailer

Reason: The first time I watched the trailer I exclaimed “It’s like Supernatural! But with Tyrese!” Paul Bettany is great and all, And I can’t help but love Adrianne Palicki simply for her contributions to Friday Night Lights (Another one of the greatest dramas on television,) but there’s just no way I can say no to a Tyrese movie. If Tyrese is there, I’m guaranteed at least 2 unintentional belly laughs through the course of the film.

So far, I’ve yet to see ANY of the films I’ve mentioned in my Friday Favourites. But I did watch Brothers today! And I will try and write about it soon.

“Another thing about being nineteen, do it please ya: it is the age, I think, where a lot of us get stuck (mentally and emotionally, if not physically) […] This is hardly an original concept.” – Stephen King

Leave a Reply

