My brain can’t comprehend “three day weekends”

As much as I love the holidays and having time off work, I’ll be really glad to get back to my regularly scheduled life. Not only because it means I get new episodes for all my favourite shows (come back TV, I miss you!) but because it helps me keep track of just what the heck day it is and what I’m supposed to be doing. All day yesterday, it felt like Saturday. I even went to see what rerun of SNL was on last night.

TV: “FOOLED YA! IT’S SUNDAY! Oh, and PS, you totally missed an all new Brothers and Sisters. SUCKER!”

Not impressed. My mom just asked me if it was Tuesday?! Apparently an inability to keep track of the days of the week runs in the family…

So, I sorta fulfilled number 16 on my resolutions list yesterday (though addendum 16b is still pending,) by taking my friend to breakfast at a place I’d never been before. I say sorta, because it was within walking distance and thus didn’t constitute much “exploring.” But going to unknown restaurants is very adventurous of me, considering my limited eating habits, so I’m going to count it. We went to a breakfast joint called Over Easy and had some delicious eggs and bacon and french toast and chatted all morning. It was pretty wonderful. And probably why it felt like a Saturday – Sunday may be notorious for brunch among the “normies,” but for me, Sundays are notorious for not getting out of my PJs and just trying to watch as much TV from the previous weeks as I can. So it was nice to actually, you know, get dressed and go somewhere on a Sunday. I could get used to this…

It was also really wonderful seeing my friend Rob. He and I were sorta “friends of a friend”  for a while, then “friends, but only really when this other person is also there.” It’s nice to know that we can be, and are, friends, without any outside influence. J’adore! xo

More visits from Ottawa folk? Check! Though I was not the initial reason for his visit, we got to spend a lot of quality time together which I think will ensure more visits in the future. And I love me some visits from Ottawa =)

In other news, Pete Posthelwaite died and I’m pretty bummed about it. And a little spooked out. Mostly because I’ve been thinking about him a lot this past week. I just watched The Town on Thursday, which he is wonderful in, and then after watching How To Train Your Dragon, I started thinking about how much I wanted to watch Dragonheart and how wonderful Pete was in it. If my plans to see Burlesque tonight fall apart due to a crazy fire downtown, then methinks I’ll have a little Pete memorium marathon with the films I’ll remember him most for: Romeo & Juliet, The Lost World: Jurassic Park, and of course, The Usual Suspects. And I’m going to go digging right now to see if I can find my VHS copy of Dragonheart. To the stars, Bowen. To the stars.

Leave a Reply

