“After we watch “The Bucket List,” remember to cross “watch ‘The Bucket List'” off our bucket list.”

Today. Was. AWESOME.

So, my big plan for the weekend was a whole lotta nothin,’ with maybe some movie watching thrown in. And then this showed up on my facebook feed:

Toronto friends who have ovaries: I was going to go to the gym on Sunday for the first time in more than two months but then I found out this was happening and I think it’s a far more exciting option. Anybody want to join me?

When I clicked on that link, it was like reading my secret dreams and desires come to life. An all girls dance party in the middle of a Sunday afternoon – no booze, no boys, no judgment. This? This is the kind of workout I can work with. I LOVE dancing. My philosophy in life is “Dance like no one is watching,” and I do. I look like a giant goof most of the time, but I really, really don’t care. I love dancing without abandon and just flailing about to anything from 80s pop to current hip hop to 60s dance crazes. If it makes me want to shake my booty, I LOVE IT. It would be an understatement to say I was intrigued by the concept of Dance Dance Party Party. So, I informed my good friend that I would love to join her (because, let’s face it, I’m just not brave enough to attempt something like this solo,) and at 3:30 met her at the studio.

Sidebar: I realized this morning as I as pumping myself up for the class that I have no appropriate work out clothes. Because I do not work out. Because working out is hard. And boring. And not fun. But since it’s on my resolution list to start working out more, I figured I should probably get some stupid pants. What’s that, Old Navy? $15 yoga pants? YES PLEASE. Done and done.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I got to the studio, so I wasn’t so much surprised as I was mildly intrigued by the group gathering – I’d say there were at least 30 ladies there, ranging in age from their mid-20s to their mid-60s. At first, it was kinda like being at a sixth grade dance – everyone just standing around awkwardly with the group they came with, awkwardly shuffling back and forth in an attempt at dancing. Then, as people started to loosen up, it was literally like a GIANT dance party. Everyone was dancing just for themselves and didn’t seem to care what they looked like or if anyone was watching. The music was awesome – I’d say at least 75% of the songs played could be found on my ipod. Everything from Katrina And The Waves to the cast of Glee to Robyn to the Spice Girls. When “Footloose” came on, I LOST IT. “Footloose” is my go to “dance like a maniac” song:

By the time the 75 minutes were up I was exhausted, hungry, red in the face, and so happy I could bust. I was incredibly disappointed to find out these classes only take place once a month; the next one isn’t until the 13th. But I guarantee you I’ll be back. It was also great because it took care of like, 4 of my resolutions!

* Hang out more with downtown friends? CHECK!
* Accept more invitations? CHECK!
* Explore Toronto? I walked there, so CHECK!
* Take a dance class? HALF CHECK! It wasn’t really a “class,” or what I had in mind when I made that resolution, so I’m only half counting it. STILL! I’m satisfied.

I then came home and watched Easy A (Number 3!) I have to say, I loved Emma Stone in it, like, really loved her, like, she might be working her way up my girl crush list, but the film itself was a bit of a letdown. I just thought the story was a little rushed, and not as well-developed as I would have liked. I also felt like a lot of secondary characters were introduced, but not really utilized fully. Cam Gigandet, Dan Byrd, Aly Michalka, Thomas Hayden Church, Penn Badgley, Lisa Kudrow… all fine actors, all introduced with the potential for being awesome, all given one or two cute moments and then abandoned. I realize it’s hard to do an ensemble piece and give everyone the screen time they deserve, but I feel like if 10 Things I Hate About You could pull it off, then I don’t see why others can’t. Note to filmmakers: I know the 80s are like, the blueprint by which all teen movies are built, but if you wanna see how to do a proper teen ensemble that is smart, clever, and engaging? Watch 10 Things I Hate About You. Even the brief screen time the adults have is memorable and hilarious. So much so, that I’m flabbergasted I can’t find any youtube clips of Allison Janney writing her trashy romance novel, or Daryl Mitchell as the English teach who just can’t be bothered to care anymore. Classic.

I will say this for Easy A though: Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson as Emma Stone’s parents were, hands down, the best part of the movie. They were funny, relatable parents that all kids wish they could have. I wanted more scenes with that family. I’d watch a sitcom about that family. Make it happen, TV gods.

All in all? A good day. And now I think I will watch an all-new Brothers & Sisters, then put on 10 Things to fall asleep to. Because now I can’t get it out of my head.

One response to ““After we watch “The Bucket List,” remember to cross “watch ‘The Bucket List'” off our bucket list.”

  1. Pingback: What, this isn’t about movies or television? Gross. Pass. « Cinephile Sandra

Leave a Reply

