The Mechanic (#12): Better than Death Race, but no Transporter

“I’m going to put a price on your head so big, that when you look in the mirror your reflection’s gonna want to shoot you in the face.”

IN THE FAAAAAACE!

And with that, The Mechanic won my heart.

Oh, who am I kidding – I was won over the minute Jason Statham drowned a man in his own pool, but tricked the guards into thinking he was still alive by swimming underneath him and moving his arms like he was doing the breast stroke. Fantastic.

I have a soft spot for cheesy action films. I can’t help it. They’re just SO MUCH FUN. And ever since The Transporter, Jason Statham is my go-to action hero. He’s like Bruce Willis 2.0 – Bald, bad-ass, sexy as hell, and with a British accent to boot! What an upgrade! Plus, I find that most of his movies contain at least one incredibly nonsensical line that I will repeat for weeks on end. The above is my new one. This was the previous:

It often surprises people that I enjoy action movies – I saw The Mechanic with friends and my one friend’s boyfriend turned to me and said “I had no idea you liked these kinds of movies, I was shocked you wanted to see it.” Why this surprises people so often, I have no idea. To me, action films are often just a serial killer or supernatural creature away from being a horror film – and I LOVE horror films. Man, sidenote, how awesome would it be to see Jason Statham fight zombies?? Make it happen, Hollywood!

I digress. I’ll admit that at first, I was a little disappointed with the lack of action in The Mechanic. It started strong, but then spent a good chunk of time in a montage of Statham training a new protegé while struggling to come to terms with the latest assignment he completed, BLAH BLAH BLAH. But when the action did kick in? AWESOME. Bruce Willis may have killed a helicopter with a car, but Jason Statham gutted a bus with an SUV, then killed another SUV with a garbage truck. YES. Just… yes.

And the best part about The Mechanic? Jason Statham isn’t the only eye candy available. Howdy, Ben Foster! Remember when you used to be on Flash Forward and were totally sweet and adorable?

Now you’re super scary and bad-ass in most of your movies. Not gonna lie, I’m digging the change.

This isn't from The Mechanic, but DAMN. You spooky, sir.

I wouldn’t go so far as to recommend The Mechanic to anyone – not unless you love Ben Foster, Jason Statham, or action movies about assassins. Lucky for me, I love all three.

One response to “The Mechanic (#12): Better than Death Race, but no Transporter

  1. Pingback: Hello, my name is Sandra, and I am an addict. « Cinephile Sandra

Leave a Reply

