Predicting the Golden Globes

It is that time of year again, kiddies! Awards season time! I don’t know why I care so much, I always get unnecessarily worked up when I KNOW full well that half the times all the winners are political and that they don’t even mean anything, but guess what: I DON’T CARE. I LIVE for awards shows. For those moments when someone wins for the first time and are genuinely surprised; those moments when an upset has taken place and EVERYONE is surprised; when someone cries during their speech; when someone makes me laugh during their speech… I love it all. And no award show is more rife with memorable and hilarious moments than the Golden Globes, the only award show where the attendees get progressively drunker as the night progresses. It’s genius. And tonight’s awards show is hosted by two of my all-time favourite women, Tina Fey and Amy Poehler.

I AM SO EXCITED. Tonight, I will be having some people over to watch the awards with me and to join me in my snarky commentary, my irrational rage, and my undeserved excitement and pride when someone I want to win, wins. It’s going to be awesome.

Once again, I have broken down my predictions for the night’s winners: Who should win, and who really will. I like to think I’m getting pretty good at predicting these things but, as I said, nothing delights me more than a surprising upset. Let’s dig in, shall we?

Best Motion Picture – Drama
Will Win: Zero Dark Thirty
Should Win: Argo

I’m not 100% on this, Lincoln could very well take it, but I suspect the buzz behind Zero Dark Thirty will push it to the top. And though I’d have personally picked The Impossible as the best drama of the year, of the options available I’d say that I’d want to give it up for Argo – somehow both quietly intense and surprisingly funny, it’d make my night to see Affleck’s flick get the gold. Don’t see it happening though.

Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
Will Win: Silver Linings Playbook
Should Win: Les Misérables

I liked Silver Linings Playbook, and I am not opposed to its inevitable victory per say, but Les Misérables was an incredible feat. It wasn’t easy bringing that beloved stage show to life and most theatre geeks would agree that somehow, they pulled it off. However, Silver Linings Playbook has a mystifying amount of buzz around it and I’d honestly be surprised if the Weinsteins’ lobbying didn’t pay off.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama
Will Win: Daniel Day-Lewis for Lincoln
Should Win: Daniel Day-Lewis for Lincoln

It’s no contest. Even if you didn’t like Lincoln, it’s hard to argue with Daniel Day-Lewis’ performance. From his soft-spoken demeanor to his slouching gait, that man WAS Abraham Lincoln.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama
Will Win: Jessica Chastain for Zero Dark Thirty
Should Win: Naomi Watts for The Impossible

Naomi Watts’ performance is one of the strongest on film this past year and I’ve already heard many of her fellow actors agree with me in various interviews. I am fairly certain she will walk away with the SAG Award in a few weeks but tonight? I am not sure. I could be wrong, and I certainly hope I am, but I suspect Chastain will take it this year. I haven’t seen Zero Dark Thirty yet, so it’s hard to say whether she deserves it or not, but I’ve been a fan of hers for a while so I’d find it hard to begrudge her the win. But seriously guys, TEAM NAOMI. All the way.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
Will Win: Bradley Cooper for Silver Linings Playbook
Should Win: Hugh Jackman for Les Misérables

Again, Silver Linings‘ buzz is going to carry it through this category. Plus, Bradley will be benefiting from what I like to call the “Chris Colfer Effect” of giving a touching, dramatic performance in a “comedic” work – gives people an easy out. And it’s a shame because Hugh Jackman’s performance was leagues above Cooper’s, especially when it comes to emotional nuance. And the man had to sing while doing it. That’s award-worthy.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
Will Win: Jennifer Lawrence for Silver Linings Playbook
Should Win: Jennifer Lawrence for Silver Linings Playbook

If anyone else wins this one, I will honestly be shocked. Not only is Lawrence Hollywood’s “It” girl at the moment, she’s in one of the only flicks in this category that everyone voting is sure to have seen. That said, I LOVE this girl. I will be more than happy to see her walk away with a Golden Globe.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture
Will Win: Philip Seymour Hoffman for The Master
Should Win: Christoph Waltz for Django Unchained

This is a toughy, kids. I’m actually not sure who is going to take it. My gut says Hoffman is The Master‘s only shot at an award and so they’ll give it to him, but recognizable names like Alan Arkin and Tommy Lee Jones could cause an upset. For my money, I’d like to see Django get a little love and, yes, to have my childhood crush Leo get the recognition would be a glorious moment for 13-year-old me, but of the two performances I gotta say, Waltz acts circles around Leo. He deserves it.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture
Will Win: Anne Hathaway for Les Misérables
Should Win: Anne Hathaway for Les Misérables

Don’t believe me? Watch that trailer again. Case closed.

Best Director – Motion Picture
Will Win: Steven Spielberg for Lincoln
Should Win: Ben Affleck for Argo

Bigelow has a shot, and she could prove me wrong, but it’s hard to argue against a recognizable name like Spielberg. And while I liked Lincoln, it didn’t feel particularly “Speilbergian” to me, if that makes sense. If this was a perfect world, I’d get to see Ben Affleck FINALLY get recognition for proving himself to be a legitimate director. But this is not a perfect world.

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture
Will Win: Lincoln: Tony Kushner
Should Win: Django Unchained: Quentin Tarantino

They might throw Quentin a bone for Django, but I really doubt it. Tony Kushner is a critical darling so I think he might take this one, though don’t count out David O. Russell for Silver Linings Playbook. For the record though, Rian Johnson was robbed of a nomination for The Looper screenplay. ROBBED.

Best Original Song – Motion Picture
Will Win: Skyfall: Adele, Paul Epworth (“Skyfall”)

Half of these songs I’d never even heard of. Bon Jovi did a song for a movie called Stand Up Guys?! There’s a movie called Stand Up Guys?! What the hell is up with this category?!? Whatever, I’m giving it to Adele because it’s Adele and who doesn’t vote for Adele? I mean, Taylor Swift has a shot I suppose, but since this is all Skyfall can potentially win this year, I’m hoping they’ll give it to them.

Best Original Score – Motion Picture
Will Win: Lincoln: John Williams
Should Win: Cloud Atlas: Reinhold Heil, Johnny Klimek, Tom Tykwer

Personally, I dug the score of Cloud Atlas the most, and hey, maybe the HFP will agree with me. But I strongly suspect that seeing John Williams’ name on a ballot will be hard not to check off….

Best Animated Film
Will Win: Frankenweenie

Unfortunately, of the nominated animated flicks the only one I saw was Brave which, admittedly, I really liked, but I wouldn’t say it was the best animated film of the year with any confidence. But everyone and their mother seems to love Frankenweenie, and Tim Burton usually nails it, so I’m gonna say Frankenweenie will edge out the competition.

Best Foreign Language Film
Will Win: Amour

Again, haven’t seen any of these nominees (yet, I have plans to see Amour later this week!) but Amour is already up for Best Film and Best Actress at the Oscars. I think it’s a pretty safe bet.

Best Television Series – Drama
Will Win: Homeland
Should Win: Homeland

Breaking Bad is insanely popular, but Homeland is the runaway hit of the past year. I’ve only watched the first season so far but yeah, it’s fantastic, it’s totally going to win.

Best Television Series – Musical or Comedy
Will Win: Modern Family
Should Win: Girls

Confession: I don’t watch Girls. I will, one day, I’m sure I will. But thus far I just haven’t been able to talk myself into doing it. That said, I have heard from many reputable sources that it’s brilliant, and I kinda find myself having a girl crush on Lena Dunham after following her on Twitter this past year. I think it’d be great to see a smart, real comedy from a talented young woman win, but Modern Family is a juggernaut. This might be a bit of an uphill battle for those Girls

Best Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Will Win: Hatfields & McCoys
Should Win: The Hour

Americans do love their British miniseries imports, so The Hour definitely has a shot, but The Hatfields & McCoys is about cowboys and has Kevin Costner in it. I don’t like my lovely little Brits’ chances.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Drama
Will Win: Damian Lewis for Homeland
Should Win: Damian Lewis for Homeland

Cranston could take it. Cranston usually takes it. Everyone loves Cranston and I am no exception. But Damian Lewis KILLS it on Homeland. He is the sexiest/scariest ginger ever. I also really love Jeff Daniels on The Newsroom but I’m not sure the majority agree with me…

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series – Drama
Will Win: Claire Danes for Homeland
Should Win: Claire Danes for Homeland

No contest. This is Claire’s to lose. Nashville is too new, The Good Wife‘s heat has died down, and while this is Glenn Close’s final year with Damages, I don’t think anyone really cares. And Michelle Dockery is great and all, but she’s one of the least likable characters on Downton. No, this is Claire’s award, just give it to her now.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Musical or Comedy
Will Win: Alec Baldwin for 30 Rock
Should Win: Louis C.K. for Louie

There’s a small, hopeful part of me that thinks, “Louis might just take this! Louis could totally win!” And then I remember 30 Rock is ending and everyone loves Alec and also Jim Parsons is everyone’s favourite thing about Big Bang and oh what’s the use =(

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series – Musical or Comedy
Will Win: Julia Louis-Dreyfus for Veep
Should Win: Amy Poehler for Parks and Recreation/Tina Fey for 30 Rock

I honestly don’t know what I want here. I mean, Amy deserves it. She’s deserved it for years. She is INCREDIBLE on Parks & Rec. But Tina! My spirit animal is Liz Lemon and she is leaving me soon! Honestly, I would just love to see either of the hosts win because you just KNOW they’ll play it up for the rest of the night. That said, Julia Louis-Dreyfus is well-loved and she scooped that Emmy award out from under both my lovely ladies so it wouldn’t exactly be a shock if she pulled it off again here.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or a Motion Picture Made for Television
Will Win: Kevin Costner for Hatfields & McCoys
Should Win: Benedict Cumberbatch for Sherlock

Cumberbatch. CUMBERBATCH. Anyone who doesn’t vote for this man has their head up their ass, sorry. Yeah yeah, I’m biased and want his babies or whatever, but seriously go watch Sherlock and tell me that man isn’t a genius actor. But sadly, Kevin Costner is a big, recognizable name. And he played a cowboy. And who DOESN’T love Cowboy Costner? He’ll take it. And I’ll weep.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Mini-Series or a Motion Picture Made for Television
Will Win: Julianne Moore for Game Change

I haven’t seen any of these performances. I’ve fallen behind in American Horror Story, watched only the first ep of Political Animals (though my mother watched it and LOVED it and was totally bummed when I had to break it to her that it was canceled) and everything else just never crossed my radar. I feel fairly confident that the combination of a hot button topic and a major star playing a recognizable political figure should guarantee this one for Julianne.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Will Win: Mandy Patinkin for Homeland
Should Win: Mandy Patinkin for Homeland

I might be wrong. Eric Stonestreet is insanely popular (I like Cam, but Mitchell and Phil make me laugh WAY more, sorry) but Homeland‘s popularity keeps growing and Patinkin’s popularity keeps growing with it. I think Saul and his trusty beard might be a lock.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Will Win: Maggie Smith for Downton Abbey
Should Win: Maggie Smith for Downton Abbey

It’s MAGGIE SMITH. Who doesn’t love Maggie Smith? She’s easily the best part of Downton Abbey and she’s Britain’s answer to Betty White – everyone loves her and gives her all the awards because she is old and adorable. I know she won’t be there, but I’d KILL for an acceptance speech from the Dowager…

Those are my picks! Agree? Disagree? We’ll see how it plays out tonight!

PS I started one of those “My favourite movies/shows of 2012” posts but it took me too long to narrow my list down and say what I wanted to say about each pick and I feel like the window to put in my two cents has passed. If anyone is actually interested I can still post it, but otherwise here it is in list form:

MY TOP 12 MOVIES OF 2012
12) Lincoln
11) Much Ado About Nothing
10) Silver Linings Playbook
9) Pitch Perfect
8) Cloud Atlas
7) Les Miserables
6) Argo
5) The Avengers
4) Django Unchained
3) Cabin In The Woods
2) The Impossible
1) Looper

MY TOP 12 TV SHOWS OF 2012
12) The Newsroom
11) Face Off
10) Archer
9) Scandal
8) New Girl
7) Walking Dead
6) Parenthood
5) Community
4) Parks & Recreation
3) Doctor Who
2) Sherlock
1) Being Human
(Truthfully, those top 6 shows are kind of all tied for number one. What can I say? I love my stories.)

Feel free to rant at me about any of my picks, I am always up for talking about my favourite pieces of pop culture.

Leave a Reply

